Winton Woods High School Presents Sports Awards


The 2019 Winter Sports Awards ceremony was held at Winton Woods High School on Wednesday, March 20, to honor those athletes participating on the academic quiz team, boys and girls basketball, boys and girls bowling, boys and girls swimming and cheerleading. Special awards were presented that evening which included:     


Academic Quiz Team

1st year award – Riley Lauchard, Renaud Fred Noubieptie Kamgang and Nicolantonio Prentosito

2nd year award – William Gronefeld and Ayden Hassertt

Most Valuable Player – Matthew Bernardo

Blue Award – Ayden Hassertt


Boys Basketball

Most Improved Player – Rashaun Brown

Warrior Award – Demari Martin

Charlie Fredrick Sportsmanship Award – De’Ron Young

Best Defensive Player – Leroy Walker, Jr.

Best Free Throw Shooter – Kendal Phillips

Most Assists – Raequan Prince

Chairman of the Boards – Aaron Ward

Most Outstanding Player – Rashaun Brown


Girls Basketball

Most Improved Player – Tandra Smoot

Iron Girl Award – Aria Gaines

Charlie Frederick Sportsmanship Award – Taylor Fields

Leadership Award – Ayanna Thompson

Chairman of the Board – Brianna Ball

Most Assists – Leasiah Payne

Most Courageous – Makayla Rogers


Boys Bowling

Most Valuable Player – Nicolantonio Prentosito

Most Improved Player – Perphuz Denham


Girls Bowling

Most Valuable Player – Makayla Adams

Most Improved Player – Genevieve Lilly

Charlie Fredrick Sportsmanship Award – Zariah Sims

Warrior Award – Paige Adams



Most Valuable Cheerleader – Jasmine Horner

Most Improved Cheerleader – Makayla Adams

Charlie Fredrick Sportsmanship Award – Alana Jones

Warrior Award – Yrmajesti Hightower



Most Valuable Swimmer – Kelsey McMenemy

Most Improved Swimmer – Amaya Fox

Charlie Fredrick Sportsmanship Award – Liam Whyte

Warrior Award – Lindsey Van Dyke

5th Relay Swimmer – Sydney Mulford



Most Improved Wrestler – Eric Fomekong

Charlie Fredrick Sportsmanship Award – Jon Rumph

Warrior Award – Paul McKnight

Scholar Athlete – Ernest Wolke

Most Pins & Most Wins – Cornell Beachem

Most Takedowns & Most Team Points – Cornell Beachem

35 Wins - Eric Fomekong and Paul McKnight

50 Wins – Cornell Beachem


Athletic Director’s Coach of the Year Award

Cindy Camp – Swimming

Andre Tate – Basketball


Academic Achievement Awards (3.5 or higher first quarter GPA while participating in a winter sport)

Academic Quiz Team: Matthew Bernardo, Ayden Hassertt, Riley Launchard, Renaud Noubieptie Kamgang and Nicolantonio Prentosito

Boys Basketball: Kendal Phillips, Samba Sy

Girls Basketball: Aria Gaines, Zy’Reaija Johnson, Ladaesha Payne, Ayanna Thompson and Daysia Thompson

Girls Bowling: Paige Adams

Boys Bowling: Michael Hairston, Ke’ron Patton, Nicolantonio Presntosito

Cheerleading: Kamille Austin, Ariana Green, Jasmine Johnson, Khaleah Smith, Kyla Smith, Kaelyn Taylor, Daija Wallace

Girls Swimming: Maria Adames, Mark Behrendt, Amaya Fox, Aliya Haley, Kelsey McMenemy, Manuel McMenemy, Kavita Nelson, Lindsey Van Dyke, Noelle Wolke

Boys Swimming: Eric Fomekong, Ernest Wolke


Congratulations to all of the Warrior student athletes on successfully completing another exciting season. Go Warriors!

Back to School News      Print News Article